Home > Entertainment - General, Music, Television > Josiah Leming covers Mika

Josiah Leming covers Mika

I might be one of a select few that think this kid has major potential. He needs to kinda get over his nerves and just go with it, but who am I to say anything. I’ve never tried anything like that. Hopefully he gets further, gets to show what he is all about, and maybe even makes some money so he doesn’t have to live the Into the Wild life in his car anymore.

Here he covers Mika’s “Grace Kelly” very well. He made it his own, he has a style, but maybe somewhat affected by Gavin DeGraw. Either way, the judges liked it.

He didn’t fare as well in the second round of Hollywood week, but he made it through to just before the final top 24 selection. Hope he makes it. *** This is why I shouldn’t try to find things out ahead of time…I read somewhere that he doesn’t make top 24! Hope it is wrong!***

Enjoy.

  1. February 13, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    I too think Josiah has alot of potential. His story is heart wrenching. I hope he makes it all the way or at least gets his name out there. He deserves good in his life. People like this have sensitivity, emotion and ambition to make something of themselves. He evidently is very serious about it. He writes music and can sing to boot. Yeah Josiah Good Luck.
    For those people who are down on their luck this story should be a boost also to help along the way check out this web site i came across where they will send an american idol hopeful to the next audition all expenses paid. http://www.americanidol-auditions.com/

    Good Luck!!!

  2. madlos300
    February 14, 2008 at 5:02 am

    I can’t believe he didn’t make it! Man, he has such a good voice and a very talented songwriter. Check out this guy’s myspace account and here some of his other songs. You can even purchase all his music instantly. I did and I must say I enjoy it. He needs to change it up a little cause allot of his songs sound the same, but man some of them are super good songs. So ya, I think he screwed up on his last audition and that is what cost him his position in the top 24. I’m sure the judges though he had the talent to make it, but probably thought he was over confident in himself and that he would have a problem down the road getting out of the box, his comfort zone. He showed this by dismissing the band, and then doing a bad solo of stand by me. Suck that he choked, because I truly wanted to see him perform some more and I’m sure there are many others out there that feel the same as me.

  3. February 14, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Josiah was definitely an early favorite of mine, and my eyes even misted up a bit when he was eliminated last night … but I can’t say I was surprised after that unfortunate final audition of his. He’s very talented — I admit I cringed when he started in on a Mika song, thinking he could never pull it off, but somehow he did it! — but the pressure was already getting to him, and he wasn’t even through the Top 50 yet. In a way, it’s a good thing he was taken out of the running, ’cause the pressure was only going to get heavier and I don’t see how he’d have been able to handle it without seriously pulling himself together. That being said, though, I really have a feeling we’ll be seeing/hearing his name in the future. He’s got real potential, but maybe “AI” wasn’t the right forum for him. One thing’s for sure: if he puts out an album, it’s got a buyer right here. Rock on, Josiah!!

  4. drakeisthefirstname
    February 14, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Does anyone know exactly what his story is? Why is he living out of his car?

  5. February 15, 2008 at 3:43 am

    I think Josiah was one of the best singers since ive been watching american idol and yes it did suck when he didnt make it. I know a bunch of people felt his heart break when they said he didnt make it, i know mine broke but i now if he goes back next year he’ll win the whole thing.LOVE YOUR VOICE JOSIAH LEMING!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Denise
    February 15, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    I think that kid has captured the attention of the viewers enough to already have made a positive name for himself, which is more than any other American Idol contestant has done so far at such an early stage. I think they may have just done him a favor by not putting him through. Something tells me he is going to make it big enough to turn his car back into just a method of getting from Point A to Point B and he’ll be able to lay his bed in a real home soon enough.

  7. Denise
    February 15, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    He packed up to follow his dream (he said his mother didn’t even know he was living in his car). That is someone with drive. He did say something to Ryan Seacrest that probably didn’t score him any points – he feels “awkward” when he’s not in front of his keyboards. I think since he wasn’t able to work with the band, they felt he would be too difficult to work with and not be able to keep up with time during live performances, possibly making a “mess” on a live show. But who knows? Either way, I think he is destined for good things if he keeps his heart in check and keeps his head above water.

  8. Jim
    March 17, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    I think now you are seeing your belief in his potential vindicated. He is compiling quite a big fan base, and being kicked off the show has almost created as big a buzz as if he had made it to the top 5 or won. Josiah fans might want to read this article as well
    http://jviz.blogspot.com/2008/03/josiah-leming.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

