Home > American Idol, Music, Television > Top 11 – American Idol – My Thoughts..

Top 11 – American Idol – My Thoughts..

For real though, did we need another Beatles week? Seriously, come on.

Fortunately most of the song choices sucked and American Idol can be shamed into avoiding it next season.

My thoughts… 

Amanda Overmyer – “Back in the USSR” – I really don’t have anything good to say about her singing or performing. I will say that she knows what she likes and what she can “pull off”. I was kind of glad to hear her stand up to Simon, but at the same time, he was right, She is not selling tickets just yet.

Kristy Lee Cook – “You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away” – Well, vocally, she was better. She bores me to tears though. Also, why is she so plain? Don’t they have make-up artists and people to help with the wardrobe? Better notes throughout but she will most likely be in the bottom three. Frankly, cause I am done with her.

David Archuleta – “The Long and Winding Road” – He’s back. This is what he was meant to do. A sappy ballad. Keep em coming and hit us with those big notes. Stop breathing so hard and licking your lips though, it’s kind of distracting. For real. This was my second favorite performance of the night.

Michael Johns – “A Day in the Life” – Australian. Oh wait, I think I have mentioned that before. He bores me. He was alright before, but I feel like he is doing the same song over and over again. Its a bit Hootie-ish or Matchbox 20. Also, don’t pull the sympathy card! He might stay because of that, but I will say solely because of that.

Brooke White – “Here Comes the Sun” – Oh Brooke, you were NOT my favorite this week, neither in the song nor the after-song rambling. The song was forgettable for sure, but then you made the whole thing unforgettable by rambling on and on with the judges and making the rest of American uncomfortable. Yikes. She should stay though, just shut it!

David Cook – “Day Tripper” – Daughtry much? Good performer, I’m just not a fan of that song. He is kinda growing on me and definitely deserves to stick around.

Carly Smithson – “Blackbird” – Irish. Oh, but I think I liked her this week. Maybe I just like the song, but I didn’t mind her so much. Enough with the lame meanings of the song though. She will stay.

Jason Castro – “Michelle” – Oh Jason, why? It didn’t work, but thats alright. My favorite part of his bit was his mention of that horribly sour note of Hallelujah. I completely thought the same thing, but it was okay. He acknowledged it and they let is slide. He is growing to be one of America’s favorites. Watch out Archuleta and Cook.

Syesha Mercado – “Yesterday” – This was my favorite performance of the night. My friend Shelly seems to think she was pitchy, but I think she is a liar. I loved everything about this. She looked awesome with her hair done that way, the song was arranged very nicely and she really connected emotionally to the song. WAY TO GO! This should definitely keep her out of the bottom three!

Chikezie – “I’ve Just Seen a Face” – I really hate to admit this, but Cheez-its is starting to grow on me. He has gotten better vocally in the past two weeks. Opposite to what Simon said, I liked the slower part at the beginning better than the faster part. I think the Harmonica playing should have been omitted though, it was just weird.

Ramiele Malubay – “I Should Have Known Better” – She has a good voice, like I have mentioned, I still don’t think she is marketable and/or is making a connection with America. She will most likely be in the bottom three again.

The bottom three should be: Amanda, Kristy and Ramiele.

Kristy Lee Cook should go home.

  1. Shelly
    March 24, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Shut up, Bee-otch!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

