Home > Album Review, American Idol, Entertainment - General, Music > Michael Johns – Michael Johns CD

Michael Johns – Michael Johns CD

Michael Johns – Michael Johns (Release date: Pre-Idol)

As with many of the Idol contestants, Michael Johns had released a solo album independently before appearing on American Idol this year. I was never a huge fan of Michael Johns on the show, but this solid release might have me considering getting his post-idol release.

There is no doubt that MJ can sing. There is also no doubt of what kind of music influences him and that he has the passion to sing. His self-titled disc MICHAEL JOHNS is reminiscent of 70s rock with a little blues and soul infused throughout. In fact, much of this album reminds me of a slightly rockier version of Marc Broussard’s latest release, S.O.S.: SAVE OUR SOUL.

I found the second half of this CD more enjoyable and ear-friendly than the first. Stand out tracks were IT’S TOO LATE, FOOL’S GOLD, WASH ME and his two bonus tracks, THE HOURS IN BETWEEN and RIVER OF LIFE. On the track, IT’S TOO LATE, Michael Johns sounds like a fellow independent artist ARI HEST

I would give this independent release a 7 out of 10. I don’t think there is much of a top 40 hit on here, but for the most part I could listen all the way through, only having to skip a few tracks here and there. I think with this, I have proof that Michael Johns has a chance at making it. Best of luck MJ!

  1. May 20, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Michael Johns is the REAL American Idol this Year! He was sent home prematurely when he never even got the least amount of votes – he had more votes than David Cook did that night. He was meant to be our winner. He is our winner & HE IS A SUPERSTAR. I say THE HOURS IN BETWEEN can be a #1 Record.

  2. Shelly
    May 21, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Um. Do you have some kind of insider information that we don’t know about, Susann? Just curious.

  3. Janet
    May 27, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Michael should have been in the top 2! I almost quit watching Idol when he was knocked out. So unfair! What happened?

  4. Janet
    May 27, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Michael – we’re waiting for a new CD to come out from you!

  5. October 21, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    I feel Michael Johns is a very talented singer and I for one can’t wait until his CD is out so I can buy it. I already have some of his songs on a CD and I listen to it constantly. I feel Michael should have been in the top 2 and I only kept watching AMI because of David Archuletta. Michael you are loved by many…….keep your dream alive and please, please have a concert in Cleveland, Ohio! You would make my day.

    Very Sincerely,

    Sandy

  6. Kaylie
    February 15, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    He is the best singer!!!!!! He should have been the winner!!!

  7. Kathy
    March 6, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Here we are into the next season of American Idol and I am still upset about Michael Johns being voted off last year. I liked David Cook and he is very talented and he is also from a city close to me in Missouri, but I still feel that Michael Johns should have won and am just waiting for his CD and hope he continues with his singing career.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

