Reality shows

There was a time when you couldn’t catch me watching a reality show. I detested the idea of Survivor or Big Brother or yes, even American Idol. Then something happened. What this something was, I have no idea, but I started watching Idol and was hooked.

So back in April I was talking about Big Brother and how my favorite person was kicked off and I kind of instantly lost interest in the show. That led me to a tangent in which I decided that there is a formula to my like/dislike of reality shows.

My overall thought on reality shows: they suck at first. get awesome. then (usually) suck again.

Let me break this down for you…

they suck at first.

The reason I think they all suck at first is because you don’t know what you are going to get. On most shows you start with way too many contestants, therefore each person gets about 23 seconds of air time and you know nothing about them. Worst case scenario is that you hate everyone and the concept of the show. The benefit of that is that you can shut off the TV and not try again.

get awesome.

Assuming that you have dedicated yourself longer than a few episodes to any reality show, you have begun to choose favorites. If you are anything like me, you have started a verbal fan club and tell everyone to jump on your bandwagon and fight! This is where the show is awesome. Your favorite contestant is winning and beating all the others that you hate. Even better is when you love the underdog and they are beating out everyone else’s favorites! GLOAT!

then (usually) suck again.

Usually for me, my favorite gets an early boot. I try to come up with my “next” favorite and hang on to hope, but inevitably they get kicked off too. That’s when I hate Reality shows and vow to not watch again. But, you know it, I do. 🙂

So there you have my thoughts on reality shows. If they slightly spark my interest, I will give them a shot.

What are your thoughts on Reality Shows?

  1. Shelly
    May 1, 2008 at 8:59 am

    I think you’re right. 🙂

  2. May 1, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    I personally can’t stand 95% of the so-called “reality” shows, because [a] of all the backstabbing and arguing and bitching and moaning that goes on … I get enough of that in real life and on the news; and [b] because they’re not really “reality” … the situations, if not scripted, are at the very least heavily manipulated by the producers.

    I don’t consider “Idol” a “reality” show; it’s a talent competition (a different creature entirely, in my opinion). Another show I’m addicted to is “Little People, Big World” on TLC, which could be called “reality”, but I like to call a documentary series. Fascinating, entertaining, and makes you think a bit too.

  3. wcarroll415
    May 12, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    So true…I will say that I do love reality tv, but lately I have been losing interest in the majority of them. I guess with the last few seasons of Survivor or this year on American Idol, no one really has captured my attention enough that I want to root for them.

    And I hate when my favorite goes home! Especially when it’s down to the final four and they all suck (Big brother last summer)!

  4. June 9, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    I recently came across a girl, 11 years old, who loves watching Roadies! I’m seriously horrified about her future! Is this what we want our kids to learn? Recently 19-year-old girl, Krushnaa Patil, from Pune conquered Mt. Everest. Now, that’s something I call adventure, not cursing each other, dropping your fancy pants and eating grasshoppers! If that’s reality, let me live in my dreams!
    Visit- http://souravroy.com/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

