Home > Entertainment - General > My favorite person…

My favorite person…

With Mother’s Day approaching, I am quickly reminded that I am missing out on something. Everyone around me is making plans to visit their mothers and take the family out to dinner. I am not. About 362 days of the year, I am fine with this. Mother’s Day, Birthday and Death Day are the ones I am not as fine. Although, I will say that 18 (almost 19) years later, I am pretty much in the clear.

My mother passed away in a motor vehicle accident when I was eight. I often wonder if it is easier to lose someone suddenly or watch them die from a disease or something. I would venture to say that I got the easier end of situation that no one should go through at eight years old. My father suddenly became a single parent and did the best he could (which I think was a damn good job). 🙂

Over the years, I have gradually forgotten most things about my mother. People say I MUST remember her voice, or her smell, or her looks. I regretfully respond that I do not remember much. I remember bit stories, but I don’t have much memory of my mother. She was 32 and in her prime; I was 8 and not really paying attention. I don’t blame anything or anyone for this; a situation like this is what makes us who we are. It is LIFE.

When I was twelve years old or so, my grandmother (father’s mother) moved to Florida from Massachusetts to help my dad take care of me and be that motherly figure in my life. Turns out, this was the best thing for both of us. She is MY FAVORITE PERSON. We have one of the closest relationships I could ever ask for. She is not only my grandmother and my “mother” but also one of my best friends. I guess it sounds strange to say that I am best friends with a 70+ year old woman, but it is true. There is nothing I cannot share with her. From disgusting topics to television shows to teenage and college issues. You name it.

Since my move to Massachusetts, I have made a point to go to lunch with her every Saturday and spend each holiday with her. I will miss out on Mother’s Day with her this year, but you know, that is okay because she says it is. 🙂 I will be traveling to Florida for a friends birthday, but my heart will be with her.

As she gets older, I get scared that someday I will have to say goodbye. I cannot imagine the pain of losing my “mother” twice in my life. I know we have many years left, so I will not dwell. I hope my kids (someday) get to meet my favorite person, my grandmother.

After saying all that, I guess I really am not missing out on too much. I have a woman in my life that loves me unconditionally and is always there for me. I love her more than she will ever know.

Sorry for the sap, I just wanted everyone to know about this wonderful woman.

  1. Shelly
    May 6, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    Yep, she really is a remarkable woman and I am so happy that you have her in your life! And if she reads this, “I miss you! Happy Mother’s Day!”

  2. Joanne
    May 6, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    She sounds like a wonderful woman! She and your Dad were instrumental in raising such a respectful and appreciative human being…

  3. Vikki
    May 6, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Aw geez, M. Making me well up again!

  4. Erica
    May 6, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    What an incredible love letter for her. I am sure you hold a space in her heart that is irreplaceable. And even though your Mom is not ‘here’ on earth with you, she is with you every single day. I know both your ‘mothers’ must be extremely proud of their Matt. 🙂

  5. Jenn
    May 6, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    You certainly did her justice here. Her unconditional love for you is something you are blessed with having! I am sure she is so proud of you Matt! 🙂

  6. May 7, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    A beautiful entry. I honestly don’t know what I would have done had I lost a parent so early in life, and I lost my father to cancer about 14 years ago (when I was already an adult), so I can’t connect with you in that way. But it sounds to me like whatever you may have lost in not knowing your mother you’ve gained in making such a close bond with your grandmother — and whatever the case, I’m sure your mother is smiling down on you right now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

