Home > American Idol, Entertainment - General, Music, Television > Top 4 – Rock N Roll Hall of Fame – My Thoughts

Top 4 – Rock N Roll Hall of Fame – My Thoughts

Whoever came up with this theme was aiming to kick Syesha out this week (finally for them). It is okay though; I have resigned to the fact that she has survived as long as she could have (like James from Big Brother 9). Hope tonight is surprisingly awesome!

——–

David Cook – “Hungry Like the Wolf” by Duran Duran

I hate this song if solely for the “do do do do doodododododdo” part. I don’t think David Cook tried anything new with the song. I am sure everyone will love it and it’ll be a top Itunes seller once again. It was listenable, yet screamy.

Randy thought it was okay for Cook. Paula is hungry (??). Simon thought it was good and agreed with me. πŸ™‚

Syesha Mercado – “Proud Mary” by Tina Turner

Before seeing this, I got a text from my friend saying “Oh shit, did you see your girl rock it to Tina Turner?! I was jumping!” I can’t wait. Oh god, she is beautiful. Does she want me yet?

Was that not amazing? So much stage presence compared to everyone else! So much energy! There was not a thing I did not like about that performance. Why is it that Randy never acknowledges her awesome voice? Paula loves her too. Simon hated it. I hate him right now.

Jason Castro – “I Shot the Sheriff” by Bob Marley

The “stoner” knows a song! The hair is perfect for a Marley song, but that is really it. πŸ™‚ It seems like he is trying to have more energy than he really has. Vocally I am not feeling it at all. I’m sure I am wrong.

Randy hated. Paula hated it too. Simon thinks it was “utterly attrocious”. I am not wrong. Can he really stay longer than Syesha with that?

David Archuleta – “Stand by Me” by Ben E. King

This is a great song, hope that David Archuleta does it justice. He sings it in his room to his dog…or something. I sometimes wish I had a dog to sing to.

I will “Stand by” my previous thoughts; I wish I could sing as effortlessly as this kid. He looks like he is starting to get used to the whole American Idol thing and enjoying himself on the stage. I guess we just need to think back to when we were all 17. I certainly couldn’t have done that.

Randy loves it. Paula admires that he opens his eyes (thanks Paula). Simon thought David struggled towards the end, but still deemed it the best so far.

David Cook – “Baba O’Reilly” by The Who

I am not familiar with The Who music, but I know this song. This song is so much better than the first one. Okay, so David Cook sounded good and all, but I felt that the song went nowhere. Maybe the arrangements are just way too short. The beginning was good and the end happened too fast; no middle ground.

Randy wasn’t really feeling it. Paula and Simon liked it enough; not much to say.

Syesha Mercado – “A Change is Gonna Come” by Sam Cooke

Before seeing this, I think it could be a great, great ballad for her. I love Gavin DeGraw’s version of this; I hope this one is even better. It’s all dependent on emotion.

Once again, I am mesmerized by her beauty and talent. I really liked it because it was simple. Of course the judges hate. Paula came to tears and brought Syesha to tears. Simon agreed with Paula that she was amazing on this song and that Randy got it wrong. Judges fight. πŸ™‚

I got a little worried when Syesha was crying and then channeled her inner Brooke White and rambled on about what the song meant to her. Ryan had to shut her up. πŸ™‚

Jason Castro – “Mr. Tambourine Man” by Bob Dylan

Jason on the stool with his guitar = his element. And, as I write that Jason Castro FORGETS HIS WORDS and makes a mess of it! Could Syesha make it to top three?!!

I don’t have much to say about this. The judges don’t like him of course. Simon told him to pack his suitcase, which just means he will get major sympathy votes.

David Archuleta – “Love Me Tender” by Elvis Presley

David slows down the song like the Norah Jones version. I am curious as to why he didn’t do this one while playing the piano; maybe wanted to focus on the vocals. I think that, once again, this song sounds so effortless. Maybe when he lost his falsetto he crapped himself. HA.

Randy loves it and said “hot vocals of the night”. Paula’s favorite of David’s. Simon thinks David crushed the competition tonight. He and Syesha were my choices for the night.

Lets vote 1-866-436-5702 and 1-866-436-5706!! πŸ™‚ Only if you love me!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

