Home > Album Review, Entertainment - General, Music > Jesse McCartney – Departure

Jesse McCartney – Departure

Jesse McCartney – Departure ( Release date: 5/20/08 )

So this might be embarassing, but since LEAVIN’ is a bit addicting and BLEEDING LOVE (by Leona Lewis, co-written by Jess) is a hit, I thought maybe I should “review” the advance copy of DEPARTURE by Jesse McCartney. I hate to admit that I can say that I enjoy most of the album, okay, well at least half of it.

My overall thought is that this is a homage to one of his probable idols, Justin Timberlake. Most of the songs range between a “Longing for Love (lost or found)” theme and a “Let’s DO It (because I’m grown up now)” theme.

There are some ridiculous and overly-urban songs on this album for a 21 year old white kid that used to be in a group called DREAMSTREET. 🙂 The song ROCK YOU does not belong, with lyrics like “They call me Jesse baby…” spoken over some hard beats, uh…what? INTO YA sounds like it may be illuding to some kind of sex act, but I won’t discuss because I frankly would rather skip it and pretend it is not on the album.

On to the good points of the album, the first single LEAVIN’ is awesome and catchy. Unfortunately, the video was banned from Disney for being a bit too racey. Scandalous! Ha. Catchy pop tracks HOW DO YOU SLEEP and MY BABY keep you singing the chorus long after the song has ended. This is exactly what pop songs should be doing. Kudos. The song RUNNIN’ is reminiscent of fellow chart topper, Chris Brown (also similar to Brown’s Run It title). Rounding out the album are a few ballads, TOLD YOU SO and NOT YOUR ENEMY, the latter being more sappy and somewhat enjoyable.

I would have to give this album, uh… a 7 out of 10. I think thats fair because I do enjoy most of it. 🙂 SHHHHH.

  1. May 13, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Since you confessed a guilty pleasure to me recently, I’ll reciprocate … I rather like Jesse too, and have been waiting for this album, considering how much of an improvement his second was over his first. I’m glad I read your review, though I’m keeping my mind very open (seeing as how one of your favorite tracks on Gavin DeGraw’s new one is one of my least favorites … post coming soon). 🙂 Thanks for the review!

  2. emjay217
    May 13, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Yeah. I like Degraw from his live stuff, so its nice to have some of them as studio versions after so many years. don’t hate! haha

  3. summertime girl
    June 1, 2008 at 8:44 am

    He is so handsome! He has a very cool voice!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

