Home > Entertainment - General, Music > Jason Mraz- We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things.

Jason Mraz- We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things.

Jason Mraz – We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things

( Release Date: 5/13/08 )

Amazing. Frankly, that is all I really need to say. 🙂

So, WAITING FOR MY ROCKET TO COME will always be my favorite Mraz album. I have seen Jason Mraz in concert 6 or 7 times since his first release and they will remain some of the best times I have had at live music venues (except for the one time at the House of Blues in Orlando where the ass behind me decided he was going to be Jason Mraz and sing every song at the top of his lungs in my ears. Mind you, he didn’t know the lyrics. SHOOT ME).

Following up the success of WFMRTC, Jason released Mr. A-Z (clever title, holla) and I was stumped. Stumped because I didn’t know what to make of it. The first few listens, I didn’t like it. I was heartbroken and didn’t know what to do with myself. But it was Mraz, so I HAD to continuing listening. Lo and behold, I grew to love the album (excluding the song BELLA LUNA). Oh how I enjoy O.LOVER and SONG FOR A FRIEND.

So on the heels of the release of WE SING. WE DANCE. WE STEAL THINGS., I prepped myself for a stinging disappointment (just in case). Well, ladies and gentleman, I AM NOT disappointed in the slightest. This album amazes me and just makes me happy.

From what I read, Jason was burned out when Mr. A-Z came out so he took some time off and reconnected with friends and family and found himself again. He wrote what he felt like and got back into his groove. We all get to share that journey and his reborn passion on this new album.

My favorite tracks are DETAILS IN THE FABRIC ft. James Morrison (another favorite of mine), LOVE FOR A CHILD, and A BEAUTIFUL MESS. The lyrics and the music are written so well. I just get it and thats what I love. LUCKY ft. Colbie Caillat (if you remember, we have a “history” ) is not as great as I thought it might be, but after a few (thousand) listens, I enjoy it along with the rest of the album.

I can’t say enough good things about it. So I am done. A solid listen from beginning to end. I want to give this beast a 10! Ha. (I am so biased.)

From DETAILS IN THE FABRIC

If it’s a broken part, replace it
But, if it’s a broken arm, then brace it
If it’s a broken heart then face it

And hold your own
Know your name
And go your own way
Hold your own
Know your own name
And go your own way

And everything will be fine
Everything will be fine

  1. OrSoSheSaid
    May 19, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    gotta write using less em-o-ti-consss

  2. May 19, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Hmmm … you like “Cop Stop” and you don’t like “Bella Luna”? I think I’ve decided you’re The Antichrist. Oh, but on the other hand, you like James Morrison, so maybe you’re not. 😉 Good review … now I’m lookin’ forward to finally hearing the album!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

