Home > American Idol, Entertainment - General, Music, Television > And the Winner of American Idol 2008…

And the Winner of American Idol 2008…

The winner is… David COOK!

So, I want to say that I am somewhat surprised to hear COOK come out of Seacrest’s mouth tonight, but I don’t think I really am. It really was anyone’s game. Both were deserving. What I am surprised about is the fact that Archuleta had 12 million less votes than Cook.

My thoughts before and now is that Cook shouldn’t have won American Idol for his own best interests. He will most likely be forced into a “mold” and possibly put out a lame, less-artistic, less-personal album due to a contract with 19 Entertainment. Had he come in second, he would most likely have much more creative freedom and do what he wants. But we will see.

Archuleta, on the other hand, needed to win American Idol. I think he may have a tougher time doing well without the win. He doesn’t have the creativity that David Cook has to be able to pull off a “less-guided” debut album.

I wish them both the best. I’m pretty sure that I’ll enjoy both of the debut albums probably already in the works. Fingers are crossed for a Syesha album in the future too. 🙂

More about the finale when I get a chance.

  1. May 22, 2008 at 12:15 am

    I’ve got to agree with just ’bout every word you wrote. Let’s hope that the “Idol” producers have learned from the lackluster sales of recent alumni’s albums and will loosen the leashes a bit on the two Davids’ debut efforts. And yes, I was also expecting the difference in votes to be much closer than they were.

  2. May 22, 2008 at 3:00 am

    My DVR cut off David’s final performance. It made it to his name being announced and then nothing. Sad face.
    I’ll be you tubing later.

    oh and YAY!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

