Home > Television > Southland – Don’t Quit Too Soon

Southland – Don’t Quit Too Soon

So, since I have Brighthouse for my cable provider, I was able to see the pilot episode of Southland before it airs tonight at 10PM EST. 

For some reason, I am a big fan of procedural dramas. I think it may be due to the fact that you have 42 minutes to be able to get into the story line. You aren’t forced to believe certain aspects in an unbelievable amount of time. There is room for you to feel for a certain character, to get a feeling of where they come from, what they do, etc.

So, I went into this show with no expectations really. Besides the fact that Ryan from The OC and Regina King were in it, I didn’t know much else. Oh, it is also from the producers of ER, which I do not think I have ever seen an episode of.  

Anyway, the show started. I was confused. I didn’t understand the cinematography. I didn’t get the storyline. I wanted to give up on the show about 15 minutes into it. THIS IS WHAT I DO NOT WANT YOU TO DO. Give the show a chance. Stick it out. By the time the show ended 30 minutes later, I thought to myself, “I think I kinda like this.” It had a different feel to it compared to the other police shows on the air.

So, all I am asking is that you give the show a chance. See what it is like. Make your own judgement after a complete episode.

I ask this because, I find that so many really good shows are getting cancelled because, we as people, have such a short attention span and need some instant gratification.

Tomorrow, I hope to hear what you thought of the show. Will it be dropped like KINGS (which was crap, by the way)?

  1. Erica
    April 9, 2009 at 9:00 am

    I am actually interested in this show too! Hopefully it doesn’t air on the same time as any of my regular shows…

    • emjay217
      April 9, 2009 at 9:07 am

      It is on at 10, but if you have Brighthouse it can be found on the “Primetime on Demand” channel. 🙂

  2. April 9, 2009 at 10:45 am

    The show was excellent. Keep rocking.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

