Home > Album Review, Music > Gavin Degraw – Free

Gavin Degraw – Free

So, as some of you may recall (probably not), I wrote a pretty strong and  praising review of Gavin’s last album, GAVIN DEGRAW. Looking back, I might have been a little bit excited about it and that MIGHT have clouded my judgement a little bit. But that is neither here nor there. I liked it then and I like it now. I do think that waiting 5 years between albums though might have been a bit too much.

Gavin changed his mind this time and put out an album in a year or so. He decided to go back to the foundation of his music and avoid the overly processed sound he felt he had on the last album. He wanted it to be organic and raw. I think he achieved this, but I think it might be too raw, too contrived. Is there such a thing as Gavin Degraw over-singing his own songs? In my opinion, this is exactly what he does on some of the tracks of his new album, FREE.

Don’t get me wrong though. I enjoy the album and I enjoy the concept. I will definitely keep it in rotation, but I can’t help but want for more. Maybe he will take the Josh Kelley route and put out an album every time he has enough songs. I like that idea. 

On another positive note, I’m thrilled that he finally recorded a version of “Dancing Shoes.” Way to go Gavin. Oh, and apparently I got some autographed poster with my purchase. I guess I forgot about this and ripped into the package prematurely. Yes, I ripped the poster. HA

Keep on keeping on. 

Did any of you get this album? What’d you think?

  1. Tom
    April 16, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    I actually don’t have this album … and this is why I haven’t bought it (at least not yet): I have yet to see a glowingly positive review of it. I do like Gavin — in fact, I think I like his self-titled album better than his debut — so I’ll probably keep this one on my long-term “get-around-to-buying-it-eventually” wish list … just too darn much other stuff I want to get sooner.

    (There you go again, emjay, with another example of why I’ve missed reading your blog!) 😉

    -T

  2. SLG
    April 16, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    I ripped my poster too! haha. I like this album. I definitely thought the second record was overdone. I think this is a nice contrast to it, and Gavin doesn’t stray too far from his style.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

